A foliage

Is it pure coincidence that the tree and forest are recurring elements in many of the pieces created by Christian and François Ben Aïm? Whether they inhabit the stage, a stack of logs or a monumental trunk, whether they descend from the rafters like an upturned copse, or appear in a video backdrop, they mark the territory of a rich process, populated by dense spaces that serve to inspire the imagination.

The forest of Ben Aïm is bountiful and luxuriant. It teems with characters, complex beings, and stories to reconstruct. It calls forth voices, music, images. Getting lost in it means discovering a community of restless human beings, who are quick to bring out, from their own bodies, the strengths and weaknesses of everyone. Through its thick vegetation, we can perceive the words of Peter Handke and Bernard-Marie Koltès, the photographs of Josef Koudelka, the paintings of Edward Hopper, or the characters of fairytales…

Raw emotions, deep-seated feelings

It was a mistake to try and box the company into the pigeonhole of a dance theatre, an identity it quickly outgrew with each new creation – creations that have always gone against the grain of current trends and schools of thought. The choreographers have preferred to develop a relationship with life itself, to dig up feelings, unearth presences and heightened emotional states… But the body remains the main vehicle for their art, and its expressive power brushes off any attempt to tell a story. Facts are presented, events take place, texts exist, and yet it is the body, that flexible, physical tool, which creates the conduit to imagination in action. Dance dominates the game, embodying forces that vie in a tense struggle between hypersensitivity and levity. Emotions are pricked raw, but humour and strangeness are never far away, making the bodily states continually more present and incongruous.

Intersecting modes of expression

In this forest, bodies fire on all cylinders. They become the focus of a choreographic mode of expression that is generated in the entanglement of movement techniques and theatrical devices. Dance, circus, music, and video are the engines that drive the performers into the maelstrom of theatrical illusion, or rather into the eye of the storm: because the performers are at the very heart of these intersecting lexicons. More than express, they embody different bodily states, emotions, and substances, that all interact in the mirage of the stage

It is by playing this game of connivance and complicity with the audience that Christian and François create this dynamic. But in the forest of Ben Aïm, going off the beaten track is what leads to self-discovery and greater self-understanding: from the most intimate solos to large-scale events, from the public arena to the black box, Christian and François Ben Aïm sow their seeds into a wind that blows them straight to new terrain, and new clearings where anything can happen: pieces written with two hands or four, productions that venture deep into new territory, but that are always rooted in drama and humanity.

 

 

©Pascal Lemaitre

©Pascal Lemaitre

©Mélusine Thiry

©Mélusine Thiry

©L'Art en Boite

©L'Art en Boite

Une frondaison

Est-ce un hasard si l’arbre et la forêt sont des éléments récurrents qui jalonnent bon nombre de pièces de Christian et François Ben Aïm ? Qu’ils habitent le plateau, rondins ou tronc monumental, qu’ils descendent des cintres comme un bosquet renversé, ou s’inscrivent dans un décor vidéo, ils marquent le territoire d’une démarche riche, peuplée d’espaces denses propices à ouvrir les imaginaires.

La forêt Ben Aïm est abondante, luxuriante. Elle fourmille de personnages, d’êtres alambiqués, d’histoires à reconstituer. Elle appelle des voix, des musiques, des images. S’y perdre, c’est aller à la découverte d’une humanité impatiente, prompte à faire surgir dans ses corps les forces et fragilités de chacun. Dans son épaisseur, on distingue les mots de Peter Handke, de Bernard-Marie Koltès, les photographies de Josef Koudelka, les tableaux de Hopper ou les personnages des contes de fées…

A fleur de peau, au creux du corps

C’est à tort que l’on a voulu faire rentrer la démarche de la compagnie dans les habits d’une danse-théâtre, vite devenus trop courts, au rythme de créations qui ont toujours fait fi des modes ou des chapelles. Il s’agit davantage pour les chorégraphes de fouiller un rapport à la vie même, d’en creuser les émotions, de faire surgir des présences et des sensibilités exacerbées… Mais le corps reste le vecteur principal et son expressivité balaie d’un revers de la main toute tentative de dire une histoire. Des faits sont là, des événements ont lieu, des textes existent, et pourtant c’est le corps comme outil plastique et physique qui ouvre la voie d’un imaginaire en action. La danse domine le jeu, incarnant les forces en présence dans une tension trouble entre l’hypersensibilité et la distance de la légèreté. Les émotions sont piquées au vif, mais l’humour et l’étrangeté ne sont pas loin, rendant les états de corps toujours plus habités et incongrus.

Au rendez-vous des écritures

Dans cette forêt, les corps font feu de tout bois. Ils deviennent les lieux d’une écriture chorégraphique qui s’invente dans l’enchevêtrement des techniques du mouvement et des ressources dramaturgiques. La danse, le cirque, la musique, la vidéo… sont les moteurs qui placent l’interprète dans le tourbillon de l’illusion scénique, ou plutôt dans l’œil du cyclone : car l’interprète reste au cœur des enjeux de toutes ces écritures qui se croisent. Il n’énonce pas mais incarne un état de corps, une émotion, une matière, qui dialoguent dans le mirage du plateau.

C’est en jouant de connivence et de complicité avec le public que Christian et François creusent cette dynamique. Mais dans la forêt Ben Aïm, c’est en suivant les chemins de traverse que l’on se retrouve et se reconnaît le mieux : du solo le plus intime à l’événement de masse, de l’espace public à la boîte noire, Christian et François Ben Aïm sèment leurs graines au gré d’un vent qui les mène droit vers d’autres terrains à défricher. De nouvelles clairières où tout peut arriver : des pièces qui s’écrivent à deux ou quatre mains, des projets au creux de nouveaux territoires, mais toujours aux sources du spectaculaire et de l’humain.

©Pascal Lemaitre

©Pascal Lemaitre

©Mélusine Thiry

©Mélusine Thiry

©L'Art en Boite

©L'Art en Boite